Do!

It’s the start of a new year and I have an overwhelming feeling that a change is a comin’.  I’ve been doing a lot of introspective work and I am ready to put that work into action.  I’m sick of dreaming and thinking and over analizing and doubting and talking and more thinking.  I feel like I’ve been on a treadmill and I’m ready to jump off and hit the ground running.  That’s why my motto this year is “Do!”.  I know it seems simple, but it is clear and concise. Do.  Do! Whenever I catch myself fantasizing about something I want in my life, I stop myself and say “do!”.  Shut the fuck up, and do!! Take one step towards making that thought a reality.  Put one foot in front of the other, move forward, be productive.  One small movement in the direction of that dream or thought.  Things don’t happen to people who just dream, you gotta do.  What ever that means.  Sometimes it’s as simple as an email or a phonecall, or maybe it’s signing up for something or reading something or having a conversation.  The point is is that you need to put thoughts into action if you want to see change.  I almost feel stupid for just coming to this realization, it seems so obvious. Oh well, better late than never.  If I’m truly honest with myself it’s been some sort of deep subconscious fear that kept me on that treadmill for so long.  Fear of judgment, fear of failure.  Well, I refuse to live a life governed by fear.  I am willing to put myself out there in a new way and I will accept the emotional consiquences that come along with that.  Life is too fucking short.  I would like to end this rant with a quote from the great Wayne Gretzky, “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take”.  Do!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

