Get your nails did, without the “toxic trio”..

I love having my nails did. I’ve been getting mani/pedis religiously for years, and I mean YEARS.  It only recently (about two years ago when I got pregnant) occurred to me that nail polish might not be healthy for me.  I did some research and found out that it can be harmful in two ways: 1) Inhaling the fumes while being in the salon, and 2) The toxic chemicals that are in the polishes can be absorbed through the nail and enter the bloodstream. What?! Scary. Especially for those of us who are preggers.  There are three main chemicals that are of concern and that are known carcinogens. They are Tolene, Formaldehyde, and Dibutyl Phthalate (DBP), also known as “the toxic trio”.  The good news is that there are multiple nail polish companies that do not include the toxic trio in their products.  The bad news is that most salons don’t carry those brands or if they do they have a very limited selection.  So, what I’ve been doing is buying a few polishes a year…a red, a dark, a natural and one trendy color, plus a base and top coat.  Now here’s another thing I do which, at least in my mind, is a nice happy medium.  If I want to get a color that is by a brand that isn’t “healthy”, I just bring my “healthy” base and top coat.  So the first layer on my nail is my base coat which I feel like will protect me from the toxins of the actual polish absorbing into my nails.  Not sure if it’s true, but it make sense, right?  Anyway, it’s a step in the right direction.  My favorite non toxic brand thus far is Zoya.  Check out http://www.zoya.com to see their colors and to order.  Also, fyi, the base and top coat I use I bought at Whole Foods and is by “No Miss”.

images

Leave a Reply

