Yummy homemade “soda” for heartburn

In the last few months of my pregnancy, I suffered from major heartburn.  It sucked.  I would feel fine and then as soon as I would lie down to go to sleep, BOOM. There it would be, waiting to get me and forcing me to sleep practically sitting up.  Well, I came up with an all-natural concoction to combat the burn, that my husband became an expert at making for me (I was pregnant!). All of the ingredients have alkalinizing properties and it tastes like a delicious homemade soda! The recipe is below.  Enjoy whether you are pregnant or not!

Ingredients

One full glass of Pellegrino

Half an organic lemon

A heaping spoonful of raw, organic honey

1-2 tbsp (adjust to your taste preference) of organic, raw, unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar (with the mother. That’s the pulpy stuff, it’ll say on the bottle.)

Directions

(This first part is not necessary, but makes the honey liquid and therefore able to mix in evenly into the drink.)  Heat up a tiny bit of filtered water in your teakettle.  Not too hot, just enough so that it is warm (1-2 mins).  Pour about a half-inch worth of that warmed water into your glass and immediately stir in a spoonful of the raw honey.  Stir until honey is melted.  Then fill the rest of the glass with the Pellegrino.  Squeeze in juice from half a lemon, and pour in about 1-2 tablespoons of the Apple Cider Vinegar depending on your taste preference.  I prefer a little more. Enjoy!

I would love to hear if this drink works for you!  Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Yummy homemade “soda” for heartburn

  1. Jill,

    It worked! I tried it last night and was hopeful, but also somewhat doubtful, that it would work. I had tried SO many things, to no avail. But, for the first time in a couple of weeks I was able to go to sleep without feeling like my throat is a burning cauldron of fire! I’m so excited about this as I’m just going into my 30th week of pregnancy and this heartburn thing has hit me hard in the last 3 weeks.

    Great blog! Can’t wait to read more creative/helpful/inspirational ideas- especially about pregnancy and or kids/babies! I know nothing and am not afraid to admit it!

    Oh! And I’m running to Whole Foods and buying coconut oil now.

    • Hi Sarah!

      I’m SO glad to hear that it worked for you!! Doesn’t it feel great to find a natural remedy to an ailment instead of having to use conventional medication? 🙂

      So happy you’re enjoying the blog and I hope you continue to find it helpful. If you ever have a specific question about something, feel free to email me directly.

      -Jill xo

Leave a Reply

