Good day sunshine: Non toxic sunscreen and why to leave it home every once in a while

4576599951_9c47cea28e_z

Spring is here and Summer is just around the corner, and with that comes the sun.  I personally love the sun…always have.  I love the way it feels on my skin, I love rockin’ a little tan and it just makes me happy.  I do believe we have to be careful in the sun, but I don’t think we have to freak out and keep ourselves completely slathered in sunscreen.  I don’t love using sunscreen for a couple of reasons.  1) I personally think you are more likely to get cancer from the chemicals in typical sunscreen than from the sun itself, and 2) Vitamin D plays a huge role in the health of our bodies and immune systems and your body will not produce Vitamin D if you are wearing sunscreen.

Vitamin D helps in absorbing calcium and promotes bone growth.  Vitamin D deficiency has now been linked to breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, heart disease, depression, weight gain, and other maladies. These studies show that people with higher levels of vitamin D have a lower risk of disease, although they do not definitively prove that lack of vitamin D causes disease — or that vitamin D supplements would lower risk.  You can get a simple blood test at your doctor’s office to check for vitamin D deficiency.  If you are low, you can take a supplement, but make sure you get a liquid D3 which is most absorbable by the body.  The brand I used while pregnant is Carlson.  For your little ones, they have a kids version.

I think we have been basically scared out of the sun for fear of skin cancer, aging, etc.  But lets not go overboard here people.  Of course, lets use common sense though.  If you are going to be out in the blazing sun all day, please where sunscreen.  But if you are going to the park with your kid where there is shade and sun for an hour, you are probably fine and could benefit from a little sun exposure.   I think the best way to protect you and your little ones from the sun is to use hats and lightweight clothing to cover the skin, and also to limit your time in the sun.  Now, I am not downplaying the strength of the sun and/or the possible dangers of too much sun exposure, but I also don’t think we need to avoid it all together.  Everything in moderation, my friends…

The two sunscreens I use for myself and my son (when needed) are below, and both are rated ‘low hazard’ on EWG’s Cosmetics Database.

1) Supergoop! spf 30 sunscreen wipes I unfortunately can’t find these anywhere right now!  It looks like Supergoop! discontinued them for now.  I love these because it makes applying sunscreen to a toddler easy.  So keep checking their website, maybe they’ll bring them back….hopefully!!

2) California baby fragrance free spf 30

Leave a Reply

