The perfect oil for your skin: Jojoba Oil

NOW-07713-2

It took me a while to get into putting oil on my skin.  I mean, it goes against everything that we have been taught!  “Oil will clog your pores”, “oil causes zits”, etc.  Well, I’ve learned a few things that really turned it all around for me.  First of all, your skin needs oil to be balanced.  So if you are terrified of oil, and constantly washing, blotting, and/or using drying products, your skin is actually going to become more oily!  Why?  Cause it is smart!!  It starts to over produce oil to try to give back your skin the nourishment it needs.  Unfortunately, this can lead to more skin problems.  So, the lesson is, if you are giving your skin the moisture it needs, it will not over produce oil.  Secondly, not all oils are created equal.  Sure, if you rub grease from your pizza slice on your face, you will probably break out.  You want to use all-natural, unheated, raw, organic oils.  I used to use coconut oil on my face and body, which I still do occasionally, but I recently learned why Jojoba oil is a better choice.  Jojoba oil is a natural antiseptic, anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory.  It is a non greasy, dry oil that soaks into your skin quickly.  The number one reason why it is best for your skin is because, out of all oils, Jojoba most closely resembles human sebum.  Therefore your skin can easily absorb and utilize it.  It will keep your skin moisturized, balanced and looking youthful!  I put it on my arms and legs (a little goes a long way) and I add a drop or two to my moisturizer when I’m feeling dry or straight on my face if I’m feeling super dry.  The brand I use is NOW Foods Organic Jojoba Oil.  Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

